Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing an

Education plays a vital role in the life of student. It is also considered one of the most challenging phases of a person's life. It is expected out of a student to balance out academics and develop their personality. In context to the prompt provided, I would like to strongly agree with it. A student should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

To support my opinion, I would like to present a few examples. Let us consider a scenario where students are self motivated and also encouraged to always question what they were being taught in the class. In such scenarios class becomes more interactive and interesting. Students of such class would develop a better understanding of the subjects. They would also be able to retain the things they learnt over an elongated period due to their participation during the class. Apart from academics, a student would also learn important life skills such as public speaking which would help them in their future. It would train the students to organise their thoughts and present them appropriately.

Now let us consider a scenario where students are not encouraged to question what they are taught. They are rather being trained to passively accept it. Such a scenarios would produce students who couldn't develop in-depth knowledge about the subjects. Students would tend to memorize things to secure good grades. They would also be always dependent on higher individuals to support them and tell them what they are supposed to do. This in long run would create a scenario where students have low self confidence and are afraid to put their ideas in front of higher authority.

By comparing both the examples, it is clear enough to understand that students belonging to first scenario would be creative enough and would contribute largely towards research and development. This would lead to the development of the society as a whole. By adapting this teaching method even a country which is lacking behind in certain regards could develop into a better version of itself. Even if a fully developed country starts to produce more of second type of students, over a period of years it is certain to saturate in various fields.

Thus, by providing above examples and a brief comparison between the two I, would like to conclude that it is always better that students ask what they are being taught rather than passively accepting it. This would help the students in various ways which will contribute to their betterment in the future. Along with their personal development, it would also contribute to the development of the entire nation.