SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Whenever a Company/firm decides to move its headquarters it should conduct some extensive reasearch and base its assumptions and decisions on some hard facts. No two cities are similar, they always differ in terms of demographics, resources available or environmental conditions. Therefore a company should perform a thourough analysis of both the places before actually making a big move.

Going with the argument that Supercorp made the best decision from moving to Corporateville from Middlesburg would not be correct thing to do.

Firstly looking at the reasoning where the paragraph says there has been a surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville making it a superior place to live looks somewhat unconvincing. The surge in the number of homeowners doesnt imply people prefer living in Corporateville. There maybe an increase in property prices due to which the people are seeing this as an investment oppurtunity and hence are considering buying houses for investment purpose. They maybe buying the house and then renting them. Then again theremay be a surge in number of people renting because a specific industry is doing better than other industries and people of that industry prefer shifitng in this place for better jobs.

Secondly looking at the argument which talks of employee survey, we would not know the sample considered for this survey. Were the employees who were a part of the survey from upper class, middle class or the lower class and if SuperCorp caters to all the segments of society. Also when we talk of Urban, does Corporateville come under the definition of an Urban place, what exactly is an urban place is a question of importance here.

Finally Lower taxes may mean a several other things. Lowere taxes mean a cheaper and less depeloved place along with not great facilities. Also the target group of SuperCorp is a group which prefers a cheaper place to work or does it belong to that strata of society which doenst like to buy cheaper goods. Simply saying that Corporateville is cheaper because of lower taxes would not be right.