The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The above statement presents the holistic perspective that one must have when evaluating a nation’s greatness. As mentioned, the phrase ‘general well-being of all its people’ points to the very hallmark of a great society where the growth and prosperity has been inclusive. When citizens from all classes - working, business and the state, have an opportunity to create a decent life and career for themselves, can one claim that the nation is progressing.

Inclusive, all-round development means that the basic needs of its citizens, such as access to education, healthcare and employment irrespective of class has been established. This requires citizens from all strata of the society to be able to pursue their aspirations and support a certain standard of living.

Achievements of the state, artists and scientists are all important for a nation’s progress but these are contributing factors and not exclusive in making a nation great. Doctors, defense, academicians, skilled labor are all important to make a nation great. Moreover, a nation that fosters the environment and policies of inclusiveness can produce the best of scientists, artists, statesmen.

To conclude, a nation that focuses on an all-round inclusive development which in turn supports the general well-being of all its citizens can be considered a great nation.