All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The above statement looks at the practice of hiring outside consultants in a narrow sense. Outside consultants are hired not just for suggesting improvements to current ways of operating but also for defining new ways of operating in light of changing business environment. Consultants are often hired when a specific expertise is unavailable within the company or when expertise is needed only for a one-time endeavor that the company undertakes. At times full-time employees are busy working on their day-to-day activities and consultants are the best way to get new projects done.

In this context, the statement makes a sweeping argument that the hiring of consultants is unnecessary and only if company were to involve more of its full-time employees, the projects could be executed and operational efficiencies achieved.

Lets take the example of Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A). Company A acquires Company B and wants to integrate the operations of the two companies. Alignment and integration covers not only the operations, but spans across policies and procedures in various domains - Human Resources, Product Lines, Sales and Marketing and Finance and above all Change Management. M&A Consultants have the right tools, frameworks and procedures to create a step-by-step road-map to achieve the end result. In fact they also help in defining what should be the end result and hand-hold the company management to get through the complete process of integration.

Another area where consultants could be of immense value is when the a company has tried all possible solutions internally and need out-of-box ideas and thought processes. Consultants can help looking at a problem from a completely different perspective and create innovative solutions. Also, in the 21st century a number of small and medium sized companies are facing the pressure to create a substantial digital presence such as e-commerce website, mobile apps, presence on social networks, digital marketing. This move to 'digital' has made it very much necessary for a company to hire outside expertise in the market. Such consultants bring to fore not only the best practices but also help in evaluating which ones make the most impact.

A company's employees may be definitely knowledgeable on the processes and the operational practices but there are a number of instances as highlighted above where seeking outside expertise is the best way forward. However, what needs to be kept in mind while hiring consultants is that full-time employees may provide the best direction or guidance in terms of the intricacies of the existing operations and help in evaluating the consultant's findings. Therefore, hiring consultants should not be seen as an exclusive activity and a company should have an inclusive approach when implementing new projects.

To summarize, consultants are not unnecessary but an integral part of creating operational efficiencies but a company must make every attempt to integrate their employees opinion and expertise.