"The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists,

but the general welfare of all its people."

Through the course of human history we have seen the rise and fall of many civiizations and nations. From the great advancements of the telephone, the internet, the computer to the downs of economic recession in 1980s and 1990s, we have seen both. The indicators of what makes up a great nation is a conglomeration of many ideas. The topic statement above proposes that general welfare of people is what determines a nations greatness rather than the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. I am in concordance with the author's statement, but I also believe that these achievements of people also play a concise role in achieving greatness.

When one thinks of general welfare of the people, the buzzwords that come to mind are political freedom, personal safety, good healthcare facilities, basic education, high standards of living and so on. A nation which focuses in its policies on women and child safety paves way for its citizens to live a calm and unfearful life. A nation's heathcare facilities are always looked upon when determining how developed and successful the country is. An overall compendatory healthcare system in place assures the citizens and gives them the confidence to fight life-threathining diseases. Basic education must always be one of the top priorities for a nation. The literacy rate of a nation always leads to greater upbringing of scientists, engineers, doctors from a nation.

Taking an example of two countries Switzerland and Myanmar.Switzerland has been ranked among one of the countries that provide the highest standards of living in the world, which is inclusive of an efficient health care system and free education for all their citizens.Their success is reflected in their social, political and economic stability. On the other hand, Myanmar is a complete opposite representation of Switzerland. A country that has been backed by a harsh autocratic military regime for years, the citizens of Myanmar have long been oppressed and denied of many basic human rights.By using the illustration of these two countries, it is fair to say that the general welfare of a nation's people is the surest indicator of a great/successful nation.

In conclusion, a nation providing well for its people is bound to achieve greatness in the world. Importance given on the above mentioned fields always lead to an overall development of a country and makes a country self-independent. The achievements of a nation's rulers, artists and scientists are important indicators of a great nation as well but their achievements are tied to the general welfare of the society.