While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The author of this prompt talks about the homework given to students. In the author's opinion, the teachers in high school must not assign homework more than twice a week to students. In my opinion, the author's claims are flawed and based on unsubstantiated assumptions. So I disagree with the author and to support my arguments I have listed the following reasons.

Firstly, in the prompt, the author states that the Department of Education in the state of Attra has postulated that the students should be assigned homework every day. However, the author mentions a survey that questions the Department of Education's policy. In my view, the survey which the author is mentions, does not have credibility in front of the Department of Education. The Department of Education thinks wisely before implementing any policies and these suggestions of the Department must be respected. The author did not mention when was the survey taken and how many teachers gave a response. A group of teachers from only one high school do not collectively represent the entire system. On the basis of a survey carried out at a single high school, we cannot question the Department's suggestion of everyday homework.

Furthermore, the author cites the example of Sanlee and Marlee school without any relevant information about the two. The cause of higher grades at Marlee school could be due to more efficient teaching ability, and high quality learning provided to the students. It may also be possible that teachers of Marlee school ensured that the students did their maximum work in the school itself resulting into very little work to do at home. So each and every student has to finish the work in the school itself and their chances to succeed increases. Moreover, no criterion is stated about the grading system. It is possible that the pass percentage required is less in case of schools in Marlee resulting in lesser incidents of the students repeating a year.

So due to the flawed and incogent reasons stated by the author the argument stands unpersuasive. Had the author provided more detailed information about the surveys and deeper study of the two schools, it would have bolstered the author's claims. It would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.