The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but the general welfare of all its people

The claims prompt that we can usually learn from much more like-minded people those whose views contradict our own because disagreement can cause tension, demotivation and impede learning. The given topic is highly contentious because different people may have disparate opinions and supports on the given topic. Some of them go for the topic, while others can't agree with it at all. I both agree and disagree with the given claims that we can usually learn from much more people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own. There are two reasons and examples supporting my position are presented in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, when people think about the general welfare, then their minds come to good education, good health, free from political involvement, great happiness, and so on. In additional, general welfare plays most important role in the upbringing any country. For instance, I have taken two countries Switzerland and Myanmar. In case, Switzerland there are better education, better health, no political pressure in anu people, High standard living style, and great happiness in each people. However, in Myanmar, there is a worse education system, weak political system, low standard of living style, and so on. Hence, welfare is required to make a great nation.

However, for the development of any country, there must be good rules and regulations, artists and Scientists. if the rules and regulations of any country are not good, then that country is not developed properly. Moreover, in that country people are free which may increase the crime rate that's why for development better rules and regulations are required.

Furthermore, Scientists play an important role in developing any country. For example, Myadam Curie was the greatest scientist and she developed radiotherapy for the treatment of cancer that's why scientists are the most important part of making a great nation.

In summary, the reasons and examples presented both support and contrast the given claims/positions. The essay highlights the surest indicator of a great nation is the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists and the general welfare of all its people. The examples of Switzerland and Myanmar, and Myadam Curie illustrate to support or contrast the given claims.