The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

A nation is constitutes by people; and the greatness of a nation is decided by the majority, not the minority. I strongly disagree with the argument above, because the achievement of its rulers, artists, or scientists cannot ensure the well-being of others, while well-being is either an evidence or prerequisite to the former.

Sometimes it is acceptable to use the minority as an indicator, but such method is only convincing when the minority can represent the majority. In this case, rulers, artists, or scientists cannot represent the people as a whole, and their achievements cannot ensure the welfare of the collectives. In fact, in the history of almost all societies and cultures, rulers, artists, and scientists all belongs to the upper class. Using people from the upper class to represent people from all classes is inherently problematic. Even in modern society, the concerns and goals for rulers, artists, and scientists are fundamentally different from those for the general public. The ruler may want to have war and conquer another land, the artists may look forward to have their works exhibit in the MET, and the scientists may work on how to land on the Mars. At the same time, however, citizens from an underdeveloped region may only desire more employment opportunities or better medical systems.

If a nation can ensure the welfare of its people, its emperor is then qualified to be considered as wise ; if people do not suffer from starving or poverty, they may then focus on self-development and become expertise in any field, including art and science. The Tang dynasty is often considered as the greatest era of ancient China, with prosperity across the nation. Historical records show that less people suffered from poverty during that periods, as compare to other dynasties, and even the status of women is elevated. The welfare of people in Tang dynasty suggests that the emperors rules wisely. Moreover, Tang dynasty witnessed many advancement in technologies, including developments in woodblock printing, timekeeping, and structural engineering. At the same time, the arts and culture thrived in Tang, with half of the well-known poets and artists born in this era. While these achievements are undoubtedly more exciting to discuss compare to the overall well-being of the people, we should clear on the reasoning: people’s well-being can lead to these achievements, while the logic cannot be formed vice versa.