The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since time immemorial, humanity, be it the nuclear family, a community, nation or organization has always had a chain of command. A leader or leaders who are suppose to be ideally empowered to be representative of the people and their welfare.

However, several leaders have found themselves in such influential positions championing their personal agenda, often neglecting those who elected them into power. As democracy is popularly defined rule by the people, for the people. For example, the former president of Zimbabwe Robert Mugabe who led the country for several decades always blew his own trumpet, frequently touting how he is trying to liberate his people and country from colonial influence, claiming he had the birds eye view of matters hence his achievements mattered the most. However, the people he ruled over lived in abject poverty, while Mugabe enriched himself and family. This and many other examples have set enough precedence that the achievements of rulers are not the surest measure of a well to do nation.

Therefore I vehemently believe the general welfare of the people is the best indicator of a great nation. Firstly,the people form a greater chunk of the population hence it bodes well for their welfare to be a better measure of the progress of the nation. There are several examples to buttress this standpoint like the many first world countries who despite their own challenges often tries to put their citizenry first. Hence it can be observed that they often have the best of facilities, and the general population

is well to do.