The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement a

The true indicator of a great nation is a topic long under debate. While some argues that scientific development, art achievements and rulers' intelligence should the only indicator, the opponents suggest public welfare to be the best. However, these two arguements do not realize the fact that the criteria of the power of a country is complicate and cannot be oversimplified into only one dimension. In this essay, I will argue for a balanced viewpoint and demonstrate the intricacy of national power with examples.

As an indicator, public welfare can partially symbolize th economical and political power of a nation. Switzerland, well-known for its welfare policy, has long been the target to discuss when considering public welfare. With all-rounded support for citizens medical needs, life necessities and mental well-being, Switzerland is proved to be a country with the highest degree of citizen well-being in a worldwide survey. Moreover, it signifies that Switzerland possess the strong economical capacity to support such welfare startegy and a complete and sound policy to consider all walks of the society and offer support. It is understandable that economy and politics can show the power of a nation, which however, is not so easily comprehended when we put national power and public welfare together. Although someone may relate citizen's happiness, which is brought by good public welfare, with better productivity, there is also concern that such welfare is spoiling the citizens. Research indacates that with a better mental condition, workers can contribute more and increase their productivity. Nonetheless, an overly support to people's life can also be reason for them not to go to work, but only stay at home and enjoy the benefits. Therefore, public welfare can be a good indicator for the economy and policy of a country, but not necessarily a direct standard to measure a country's power, in the sense that it may cause both beneficial or harmful to a country's productivity.

On the other hand, achievement of scientists and aritist is also crucial in sigifying the nation's educational, cultural and political success. For instance, US, whose scientists has made brilliant contribution to various fields including astronomy and physics, is also renowned for its rich educational resources. With a high density of all level of educational institutions throughout the community to the univerisities, education is easily accessible by citizens. There is no wondering of how the scientific development can indicate high education level if you think of Harvard Univerisity and its alumni with significant contributions to the society and even the world. Such achievements is not only the representative of a nation's technological success, but also its sustainability in educating more and more promised young people to these fields. According to the same logic, a plethora of artisits' achievement also stands for the cultural nourishment of one country and its ability to rear more people with a taste or the creativity to appreciate or create art works. Achievements of scientists and aritists thereby symbolizes a success in education and culture of the nation and its capacity to sustain them.

Lastly, governors, an apparent sign for political power, showcase how a country deal with both intra- and international relations. Good diplomatic and national policy makers can address the conflicts and balance these relations, for example, to strike a balance between exports and imports to ensure a steady national productivity and economy, instead of executing strategies to induce severe inflation to encourage too much exports or destructing the passion of workers by welcoming too much imports. Moreover, by careful analysis and policy making, rulers can not only boost national economy, but also education, culture and more perspectives through multifarious strategies.

In conclusion, the standard to assess a great country is too complex to just be simplified into one indicators. Public welfare, scientific and art achievements, as well as the competence of the rulers, are all important indicators for a country's economy, education, technology, culture and political power. When apraising a country, we should include various criteria to for a thorough analysis.