The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The narrator wants to say that the indicator of great nation is not represented by the achievements got by their artists,rulers or scientists , but the indication of the great nation is represented by the general welfare of its people. I agree with the speaker that welfare of the people is the only thing which responsible for the recognition as a great nation. The achievements of the artists,rulers & scientist may attract the attention of the many countries but before that they should be good with people.

The welfare of the people is the most important thing which take the nation to be called as great nation. The achievers should be good with the people around them when they are working.We see many nation has many achievers but the fact that they are not as good as with he people around them or they they should not has that general welfare of its people .