In a nation the surest indication of its represented not by the achievement of its rulers, artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people. I agree with this. In a nation sometimes rulers or scientists cannot bring success for its nation. A people who work for their own interests sometimes bring the nation a reputation. That cannot bring by a famous person.

If we look in our history we can see there have many scientists who work only for their own interest but at a time they brought a good name for the country. Such as Sir Isaac Newton one day sat under an apple tree and an apple dropped on him. By seeing this a question himself why an apple doesn't fall in the sky? And for this, he researches himself to know the reason. And one day he discovered new rules. Which is now famous and many scientists work on it. And It was curiosity only nothing else. Another scientist who always ask question people to know about everything that is happening around him. And one day for his curiosity he burns his father's corn room to see how fire burns anything. And one day this boy became famous for his work. He did everything for his curiosity. And he discovered many things which are now essentials in our everyday life. So here he wasn't famous scientists before but he is now famous. And he bought many prizes for this to his country. So we can say that general welfare can bring achievement to a nation. Not all time scientists.

In history, we can know that a traveler journey for his own interest. Not anything else or he/she may not want to famous. And they write whatever they see on their trip. Such as Galiver and Ferdinand who love travel. and for this, they travel to many countries and they write whatever they saw or learn on their trip. And their books are now famous and we read them to learn. Their country earns good amount for this. And their country also became famous for this. So general welfare brings achievement to a nation.

If we look in the past we can see that there were many people who fought for their nation not to want famous people but do this for their own interest. In Bangladesh, many general people fought for their country for making it free from Pakistan. And people from all classes came to join the war not only some best person but also all class people. And they make the country Pakistan free. another exam can say that Mahatma Gandhi who fought for racism in his country. And by seeing him many men got courageous to protest against many things like widow remarriage and many other things.

In writing, we can see that many writers write for their own interest and their work is now famous and the nation of their country achieved many prizes for this. In the Bangladesh war, many writers fought by their works. General people get courageous to read them.

In the invention, we can see that Columbus who was a sailor. when he was traveling to many countries one day he discovers America. Before him, nobody knows about America. So general people can discover many unknown countries.

In my opinion, I agree with the author that "the surest indication of a great nation represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientist but by the general welfare of its people.