The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A nation is nothing without its people and its success is also determined by them. Be it a denizen’s personal achievement or an accomplishment that helps the society, both fuel the nation with pride. Indeed, a nation’s success is defined by the achievements of its people and not merely by the happiness and satisfaction of the denizens.

When the denizens receive encomiums and are lauded for their efforts in various areas, the nation takes pride in that. Take for instance the Indian cricket team that has reached the apogee of success. Surely the nation feels proud of it even though such an achievement does nothing to help the people of India like overcoming indigence and illiteracy. This is not only true in the field of sports, but also in other fields like art and music. The artists prepare their work keeping their ethnic background in mind and deliver something that appeals to the current generation. If there work becomes popular and is viewed by millions of people around the world, then surely such an artist has made his or her nation proud and at the same time won the hearts of not only the natives but also the international audience. However, this effort by the artist does absolutely nothing for helping the natives or mends any existing problems they are facing. Hence, a nation can be viewed successful and can take pride in the achievements of its people even though they do not contribute towards the betterment of the society.

In some cases, achievements of a person are inextricably linked to the welfare of the people. The scientists who work day and night in trying to formulate new antidotes, vaccines and treatments for debilitating diseases that might be pervasive in the society not only add gold points to their list of accomplishments but also help the society immensely. Similarly, a ruler’s achievement in the past to let’s say uplifting the women in the society, or for constructing a bridge that greatly enhanced trade thereby improving the economic conditions of the people, can also be viewed as accomplishments with the denizens reaping the benefits of it. Therefore, achievements and the benefits people get from it should not always be considered as two separate entities.

Nonetheless, there are cases when the success of a nation is measured in terms of the satisfaction and happiness of its people. Places like Netherlands and United Kingdom are hailed for providing free healthcare to all its citizens. Lowering cases of ailments and better access to healthcare services are seen the prime indicators of the success of a nation. The achievements of let us say an artist or even an archaic ruler might not take precedence when we talk about the most important aspect of the success of these countries.

In sum, even though welfare and betterment of the society are important determiners of the success of a nation, the achievements of a few denizens are equally important especially if their accomplishments help people.