Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Recent technological advances range from those simply for entertainment to those that help save lives. To argue that technology has made our lives more complicated is a broad and general statement. I would argue that technology has made life incredibly simple and easy to navigate. The technology itself may be complex and the effort required to conjure up these new devices, models, applications etc. is a difficult task but technology has impacted daily life by simplifying it tremendously.

For example, I recently wanted to make more money on the side. Because my current job is flexible in its hours, walking dogs would be the most efficient- and enjoyable way to make more money. I was able to set up a user profile with all of my information regarding experience, age and background within a matter of minutes through an application on my phone, for a website that would connect me to owners needing their dogs walked on a recurring basis. This somewhat tedious task of finding dog walking jobs was simplified tremendously through the use of technology. Now I am able to easily find dog walking jobs and make more money that can be put towards my savings and recreational activities.

While this may seem like a mundane thing, it is applicable across the board. Various phone applications now grant us the ability to summon cars, food and even jobs at the touch of a button. Bureaucratic agencies can now work more efficiently as more information can be made available online. Social gatherings are easier to coordinate through the internet and phone. There are also organizational applications to help with work efficiency and productivity. Things like Gantt charts and excel sheets, while simple in their design, aid tremendously with work efforts.

The way in which technology may complicate our lives is much deeper and complex than can be seen in daily life. Any negative moral, social and health consequences due to technology, if they exist, would be more subtle than can be seen expressed in daily life and would have to be studied carefully.

On the surface, however, technology has simplified daily life by saving time and making interactions more efficient.