Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

The effect of technology is a long existed debate. Some say that its detrimental outcomes outweigh its benefit while some say the otherwise. As for my opinion, I disagree with the former statement. I think technology has simplified our lives.

Our lives have been so different from people's 50 years ago. We are living in a faster, more connected, and much more informative world comparing to theirs. And all of these changes, are the offsprings of technology.

We are faster because of the technology development of transportation. From bikes to cars, then trains and now airplanes, the technology has shortened the amount of time we spend on commute by a large ratio. The determined and persistent travelers who spend years on the road to seek the treasure in ancient tales are no longer suffering in our modern world. With technology, we can get to the destination in a split second.

The level of connectivity is another outcome of technology development. It is way easier to reach to the ones we care with phone calls sad text messages. Letters used to take days or even months to be delivered. The level of effort involved in delivering a letter is costly too as it takes messengers and even horses. However, in our modern days with technology, our lives are simplified with the blessing of immediate messages.

With connection, comes information. We live in a world that the information and resources are more accessible than ever. Answers could be found in a split second just by typing it in google, while 50 years ago, we have to browse through tons of books to find the right answer. Services are more accessible as well. With simply a phone call, you can easily make an appoint more reservation, while in the old times, people have to be there and most of the times there is not even a guaranteed service for them.

However, with all these benefits that technology has brought us, the counter-argument that states that technology has made our lives more complicated has a point as well. With the technology of cars, there's traffic. In fact, the traffic in the city could go so bad that it is faster to bike around the city. Same thing with our phones. Where there's connectivity, there are scam calls too. So as our information system, there are so many distractions that sometimes it is even hard to find the information needed. But, beyond all these, while I acknowledge the downside of technology, I still stand by my opinion that its benefit outweighs its downsides.

In conclusion, while there are some distraction and complication brought by technology, its benefit outweighs its downsides. Overall, we can say, technology simplified our lives.