Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

In the last 50 years, there have been a plethora of inventions and discoveries that have made life of humans easier and more comfortable. Howveer, often times, when we see the pros of technology, we often discount the things it is desroying. Hence, while on the face of it, one may be drawn to think that with the advent of technology our lives have become more simplified, it is quite the contrary.

The issue of the complications technology poses in today's world can be substantiated by looking at the pervasive nature of global warming, stemming from the augmented use of Air-Conditioning devices. It is not uncommon for most middle-class households in the world to possess a heating/cooling device to provide relief from the harsh weather, thereby simplifying the lives of humans. However, the constant use of such these devices that aim to simplify our lives by providing comfort from the scorching heat or generating warmth in the inclement months, only worsens the quality of life of the present and future generations, becoming a massive contributor to the threat of global warming.

Another major use technological device which appears to make our lives easier is the 'smartphone.' From solving complex mathematical calculations in the snap of your fingers to communicating with loved ones thousands of miles away, the pace of technology is unequivocally relentless. Although these occurences could seem like magic to most of us, we seem to forget that this very tool also holds the power of complicating our lives by - making children and adults forget how to do basic calculations such that they need their phones for the easiest of problems, forgetting the unconditionality of love by calling our loved ones only when we 'need' them.

This boon of technology which aimed at making lives more simpler, has created a viscious cycle of complications - one that only feeds on the simplicity we once longed for.