Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

The issue that “Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy” is true to some extent, but not entirely. I partially agree with the statement made. Being able to dodge criticism or doubts and stereotypes is definitely a good trait for any individual to have, it just shows how confident one is about his decision making. The flip side of this having over confidence which is really harmful for one’s progress in any field.

For instance, lets us consider the life of one of the great scientists and inventor Sir Thomas Alva Edison. He was thrown out of school and many of his teachers also criticized him, but he never cared about any and kept working on the science he loved. He believed in himself throughout this journey and absorbed all the criticism when he had an ambitious idea of inventing the bulb. He has left his mark on this very planet for his perseverance and believing in his thoughts and is still remembered as one of the great inventors and scientists of all time.

Let us now consider a scenario where a company is in crisis and its CEO decides to take an action purely based on his gut, which might obliterate the company. In this case, there might be other solutions to pull the company back from collapsing down entirely, which when discussed with other board members might come into light. In this case, the CEO is supposed to have doubts and should definitely consider the criticism and why they are doing it, else he will be remembered only for bad reasons.

On a whole the statement posed is not entirely true, it is good to dodge criticism and doubts others may express in some cases and take them and analyze what others are saying in some others. One should try to it the right balance of both.