True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

In my opinion, it is undeniably true that someone may claim that degrees of completion of one’s goals can be used as a measurement for true success. However, when asked about whether the true success primarily can be measured by the degree of completion of the goals one set to oneself, common sense tells me that goals can be flexible, as it can be unreasonable, unrealistic, even immoral. As a result, achieving certain goal cannot necessarily lead to true success.

To begin with, in terms of education, true success is still able to be achieved even if one’s goals have not been reached perfectly as is valued differently for people from all walks of lives. By ways of example, for a college student, a true success usually comes not from the external objectives, but from a gain in learnability as well as adaptive mindset. The student may set a goal to get an ideal grade for an academic examination, but he/she would still be capable of harvest true success, as in order to achieve good grades, he/she may contribute more efforts in study to enhance study efficiency and find smart ways to study, he/ she also draws on significant amount new knowledges that enrich academic life. When he/she reflect upon this process, true success can be truly felt despite of the final results of the exam. Those good qualities can hardly be measured objectively but they help the student to harvest great success in a broad sense. Therefore, fulfill one’s target is not primarily the way to measure a true success.

Secondly, when it comes to commercial industry, possibility may exist that the goal one set does harm to others’ interest, and even pose threat to the society. Then in this way, the fact that one achieves this goal will not be recognized as true success by the public, even by himself. For instance, Sanlu, was once a Chinese native brand famous for its infant’s formula milk powder. However, in order to achieve its goal to seize its market in major poor rural area in China during its competition with other native as well as import milk powder, Sanlu chose to lower its cost by adding cheap illegal chemical into its product milk powder so that the proportion of protein in its milk powder could reach to a qualified level in a much lower cost. Unaware of this cheating behavior, many parents at that time chose to purchase this “problematic milk powder” for its cheap price. Sanlu achieved its goal to increase its sales but soon parents found their babies sick seriously after drinking milk powder, some even got kidney stone and near death. Admittedly, Sanlu successfully achieved its sale goal and seized its market in a short period of time, but will anyone regard this was a true success for Sanlu? In this case, true success is primarily being valued along with moral standard.

In conclusion, although some may concern that setting a clearly defined goal and complete it can be treated as a success, I maintain that a true success of certain goal will require a further scrutinization of the goal itself. Also, a true success can be obtained even without meeting ones’ expectancy.