True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself

Being successful in life has a variety of meanings ranges from achieving your dream goal to being happy in your life with a 9-5 job, or sometimes just being happy and in a peaceful state of mind. The thesis here suggests that trus success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one achieved for themselves. I have a partial disagreement with the claim. I believe achieving their goals can be one of the factor to measure true success but there are multiple other factors like mental and physical happiness that should have more contribution.

Work hard and achieve your goals, you will finally be successful in your life. This phrase has become a banal motivation speech for many people. Consider an example of a student in a university, with a dream of working in a software company like Google in this competitive world, he is studying day and night with arduous efforts. Let's say after getting a job in Google, he now have a life somewhere in outskirts and contributing most of his time living alone and just working 8 hours a day. Can this be counted as a successful individual? I believe, one's goals and achievement does not only accounts for one's true success. The life afterwards and the impact of the achievement within the lifestyle of an individual does. Relying just on achieveving goals may give short term satisfaction but may have a opposite impact on a holistic picture.

However, having a lifestyle where one is living a decent life with his family along with proper work-life balance, ocassional vacations, etc., counts more on a healthy living and denotes true success. Consider the life of a normal 9-5 job person who has a wife and two kids. If considering success definition based on having a lifestyle where you can have mental and physical happiness along with considerate satisfaction in your life, which in my opinion is, one can definitely say that the person, if living his life with a proper balance would be more successful. Also, the success of this individual not only makes him satisfied but alo to his family which adds up a more holistic view of true success.

On a summary note, I believe achieveing some bigger goals will lead to happiness but that might be ephemeral and have an contrary outcome later. One needs to have a balance of their own goals along with the satisfaction of better future, not individually but with family and friends. Achieving physical and mental hapiness along with your goals and a good forseen future considering family and a happy-ever-after life can summarise true success in a better way.