Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

For any student to be successful in their career they should know about different fields. Limiting their knowledge to a particular field may lead to an unsuccessful career. While it is important that the curriculum of an undergraduate student majoring in Science or Business should focus mostly on the subject related to these fields, however, it is also important that there are courses in Humanities.

In the undergraduate curriculum of a student majoring in Science or Business, if there are no courses in Humanities, then the student will have limited knowledge. To be successful in his or her career, a person needs to have knowledge in different fields as it may help in solving multiple issues, which may require knowledge from outside the field of Science or Business and may require one to have some knowledge of Humanities. For example, an engineer while selecting the site of a small project may need some geographical information before making a decision. In that case, if he has some knowledge about geography, it will save time and the cost of hiring an expert. Hence students majoring in Science or Business must have some course in Humanities.

For a person to be a part of society he or she should have some knowledge about society. Such knowledge may include knowing about the history, culture, tradition and other aspects of the society. For example, recently the Indian government passed a resolution to teach "The Indian Constitution of India" to first-year students in Indian engineering colleges. Inclusion of such subjects will help the students to know more about the constitution of their nation and will help them be a part of it.

However, the exclusion of courses in Humanities will help students focus on the subject that they have selected to pursue their undergraduate. This will provide them with more time to gain expertise in the area of their interest. But the exclusion of such subjects can't be justified only for this reason. While it may seem that exclusion of courses in Humanities would be beneficial for the career of students pursuing their undergraduate in the field of Science or Business, but it is not the case. They must have knowledge about different fields to be successful in their career which can be achieved by including courses in Humanities in their curriculum.