Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Undergraduate majors such as Business and Sciences are quite challenging and hence the any other irrelevant subjects will not benefit the students. Students should not be required to take any courses in Humanities since it doesn't have much revlevance in their career.

An undergraduate course in Business or in the Sciences is usually a course of long duration. When subjects pertaining to humanities are made mandatory, the sudents often find it uninteresting and a tedious task to learn the subject. Moreover, it is rather a waste of time for a business or science major to dwell on subjects in the humanities. Majors in Science will require the students to perform a lot of experiments and a lot of research work. This itself is very challenging and requires a lot of effort from the student. Naturally it is difficult for the student to focus on other subjects which has little benefit. Business students whose primary focus is the market and the economy of the world, it will be useless to for them to learn about Art or religion. The students will be less enthusiastic about studying subjects like these and naturally, this would reflect in poor scores.

Besides, it is common notion that Science and some subjects of Humanities contradict each other. For example a science student who believes in finding a reason, a cause behind any occurrence in the world, will be lost in the faith and belief studies in religion require. Religion has no scientific explanations, and it is rather ironical for a student in science to study religion. The big gap between the two subjects big enough that no knowledge in either one will have little effect on the other. The way the world runs is always evolving and a businesss student should be able to anticipate the trends of the world based on the previous trends but to learn about the trends 100 years ago is going to benefit them very little. For example the barter system that existed many yearss ago is now invalid and thus diving deep on history subjects is not going to benefit a business major any more than a science major learning about religion.

There is no denying subjects in Humanities do have value in it. It would be of some benefit if the paths of Science or Business cross somewhere and a little knowledge in Humanities comes handy, but taking an undergraduate course, which mostly deals with the basics will not be of any use. In such cases where the knowledge of a humanities related subject is required in either of the fields, a scientist or a business person can always seek consultation for the information they require. Hence it is unnecessary for a science major or a business major to be required to take any courses in the Humanities unless they wish to do it on their own volition.