To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Traditionally, a society is a group of people sharing cultural aspects such as language, dress and norms of behavior. People in a society are often known to share common interest or similar ideals. However, a society in a broader perspective can include aggregates of different groups which may differ in many aspects and activities. Although, cultural values are easily seen in homogeneous or nucleated area, major cities of any given society fully present its divergence. Therefore, to understand a society, one must look at its major cities.

Experts who attempts to study a society, does so not only to understand its present state but also predict changes that may occur in the future. Major cities are known to present an eclectic blend of the different aspect of a community; offering a handful of indicators for a comprehensive study. Generally, urban areas are largely populated with people from different backgrounds and ethnicity. For instance, Lagos city in Nigeria is popularly called "no man's land": although located in the southwestern region of the country, it is home to different tribes across the nation. Various collection of arts, music, lifestyle, fashion, religion among others are easily noticeable in every corner of this mega city. Setting such as this will better present an understanding of the unity, peaceful coexistence and tolerance among the different parts within a given society.

While some may argue that major cities in the world, be it in France or Rome are alike in every aspect especially in terms of social infrastructure; they fail to consider that the pace at which a given society develops is entrenched in its core values. This in itself provides a better means for comparison between similar institutions across major cities of the world. Largely, urban areas present an outlook of the economic characteristic of a given society more than rural area. It is a hub for business men, industrialist and a large pool of scholarly individuals seeking career opportunities. Government policies on development can therefore be safely formulated based on trends in the major cities.

In conclusion, it may seem appalling that the intrinsic traits in a society are largely located in rural area which reveals homogeneity, cities present a broader perspective to understanding the characteristics of the society.