To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

There is a vast concentration of people in large cities nowadays allowing for making advancements that would otherwise be impossible to be carried out in narrowly-populated areas. There is a tendency nowadays for people to form conglomerations where all needs can be saturated and where people from all over the country, if not the world go if they want to be part of the latest discoveries of humankind. This migration is characteristic for the small towns and rural areas where people often feel that their potential is not fully developed so they heed for a major city. Thus, it can be safely deduced that major cities exhibit the most important characteristics of a society since people from all over a country have gathered there for various reasons.

This phenomenon is not characteristic for contemporary history only. People have moved to places where their chances of survival have been best since the dawn of time. Consider the case of Babylon; a major metropolitan city, it is believed to have developed the monetary system first, to have built the strongest walls for its time as well as to have made many advancements in the name of human survival and progress. Babylon was also a cultural place where people from the neighboring areas migrated to in hopes of improving their living conditions. Thus, a city like that became a cultural representation of its time as the most talented people were inevitably lured by the prospectives it offered them.

Another point to support this claim is that the rulers of great civilizations have always been situated in a major city or, more precisely, the capital. Today's governments are always in a flourishing city from where their decrees can reach more people quicker. The kings of queens of Medieval England, for example, have ruled from London, where all the talented rural people have gathered in hopes of nourishing it and receiving recognition. Even though talent can be fostered in the rural areas as well, it has always been harder to do so with the proper conditions lacking. The major cities have always presented these conditions readily since the larger percentage of a society's culture has been situated there.

Finally, it is important to consider that most universities are situated in major cities. This became a prerequisite for modern post-agricultural jobs to be situated there as well. Most of these jobs require higher education and what better place to get it than a major city. Thus, involuntarily or not, these cities have become a milestone for understanding the characteristics of a society and have been its best representation from Babylon to the contemporary metropolitan ones.