To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker claims that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. I do not, although, agree with the proposed course of action for understanding a society.

In my opinion, the most important characteristics of a society are defined by its cultures, languages, behavioral attitudes, professional choices,and so on. Whether a society is a patriarchal one or a liberal one, has male chauvinism or is a feminist society, has what different cultural norms, is very important to understand to in turn go on to the path of development.

The author believes that to understand societies, one must study its major cities. but what exactly does a major city mean is quite ambiguous. For some people, a city with best economy will be major, for some it will be a city with a historic cultural value or a city which is most technologically developed. The definition of a society in question when construed as a group of people with same cultures and thinking, analyzing any of these major cities would not be very beneficial. For example, New York is one of the world's most celebrated major city in terms of its standard of living and opportunities. The city but has a number of different people who have migrated there from all over the world, belonging to different religions, having different social status, speak different languages and so on. Taking into study such a city, would only bring out diversity in our study rather than cultures or facts prevalent in a particular society. To understand a society completely, we need to analytically find and then study an area where majority people share cultures and views, what actually a society is.

To sum it up, I do not agree with the speaker's notion of understanding a society through studying its major cities. I believe it would rather be a study of small pristine areas, that would help in the major understanding.