Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree with the speaker's thought that college and universities should encourage their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. but my contention with the speaker is on the point that the students should compulsorily do this for a degree from their respective universities.

it is from living in different situations and cultures, a person understands his inner self in a better way and in turn contribute fully to his personal overall development. Human mind when put in contrasting circumstances and environment, expands in directions it didn't know of earlier. From the time a child is born, he grows and adapts himself to the cultures, environment and social norms prevalent in the area he lives in. it is the universities and schools that give him the exposure to outer world. If they are in the same environment the growth somewhere stops, the social living standards are somewhere set and expecting a big better world in any aspect from this individual would be irrational. Thus, sending students for atleast a semester to foreign universities would surely give them a different environment to breathe and grow in. they will know the living style of people there, the cultures, the advancement technology has made in area, the different means of living people adopt, the music and art forms of that region, the different food,the problems faced by those areas and the list goes on. there will be a new way the student will know how life can be lived or what is it that they want to pursue in their live or what problems do they want to work on. this is an exposure every student should have.

but my contention is on the point that students should be required to do so. We definitely need to discuss on the financial issues faced by students studying in universities or colleges who do not earn and depend completely on their parents for all their financial needs. While the exposure has several benefits, not all students may afford the extra cost of living in a foreign country. one way to overcome it could be providing scholarships to meritorious students. this way the students will have further more incentives to study hard and in turn go to foreign universities.

To sum it up, the proposal of requiring students to at least spend a semester in a foreign university has many benefits and profits, the university prior to making this a compulsion should look into the financial status of students and make arrangements to make it feasible.