To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society is an organised community, people come together to live with each other in peace. But, what makes up this society? Is it just the people? or are there any other sides to look at? when people come together to live they do not only bring themselves but also their history, this history comprises of their background, their culture, their ethnicity. all of which are complex entities. these entities evolve with time. people meet new people who have their own history background ethnicity and there they intermingle to form a compound entity that may have some characteristics of both people. to understand a society and its characteristics one must look deeper than its major cities. major citywill definitely give one the taste of how supposedly the society works but these taste are transient, they change with time. what is hip at one moment might not be as popular as time passes. on analysis on major city one might know more about the culture, what is in vogue then, how people dress, what they eat, what they might listen to, the preferred architecture, the work culture, the industries, the politics but what people might miss here is that in countries where people have multiple religion, these things will change as the place changes. in a country like India, Delhi and Chennai are two places which are pole opposite in all respects. people talk differently, people live differently, people speak different language, eat different things, what different shows, industries are different and so is the political system.

looking into major cities will give you the view of the few because only few people live there compared to the population in small cities so that will just give the view if the few but to know the authentic view you have to one must go deeper, go to the grass root level, small village where one shall find the progenitor of all cultural fad. they give you what is sustainable in a society, they help us know about the background to all the culture,history, art, music, food etc. here you get to meet real people, their lifestyle, their routine, their culture, their struggles.

thus to understand the important characteristics of a society one must look way beyond the major cities that represents the few, for the many you must go deeper into the soul of the society and analyse the important characteristics and you might find that at deep down they share the same culture, as if they were born from the same mother.