To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Many would say that studying major cities is the best way to understand society. In some sense, it is true that important characteristics of a society can be easily observed where the majority live. In my opinion, however, I still believe that major cities, nowadays, tend to lose society’s traditional values due to globalization.

Needless to say, it is undeniable that large cities in a country can provide some distinct features of it in the most effective ways. In many small countries, which lack the cultural or geographical diversities, we can best understand the critical characteristics of those countries by perambulating several major cities. Especially, they are advantageous because those cities usually have many cultural facilities to detect the history, culture and social lives of citizens, including museums, governmental offices, and public parks where citizens’ everyday lives can be observed closely. With these facilities and some conspicuous and distinct features of those countries, there would be no another area to understand the whole countries in a very short time. This means that we can best understand the general characteristics of a society by analyzing its major cities.

However, in the age of global market, most of the world’s large metropolitan areas are designed or redesigned according to their economic goals, thus may mislead us to understand the uniqueness of the country they belong to. Although New York is one of major cities of the United States, the daily activities (that) take place here would have much more differences than similarities when we compare it with other areas of the states. It is not difficult to enumerate many large cities in many countries which have the similar problems to New York, thus they are not helpful to grasp the distinct and unique cultural aspects of a country.

Moreover, large cities may be inappropriate to understand the historical and cultural idiosyncrasy of a society because of their main functions or relationship with surrounding suburban and rural areas. In some countries which have greater range of cultural spectrum and diversities, the main functions of large cities are usually limited to serve some economic and administrational purposes to help their respective suburban lives. In this case, it is not the downtowns of large cities but the suburban and rural areas where we can really detect the core values of the typical citizens. In addition, from these countries, it would be superficial and vacuous to observe two or three large cities in order to understand the whole variety of the cultural elements of the country. In Spain where diverse cultural or ethnic subgroups are mixed, it would be ridiculous to say that I understand and am versed the culture of Spain simply with visiting to Barcelona and Madrid. This also says that large cities are sometimes inappropriate to grasp the whole picture of a society.

To sum, despite the efficiency of studying several large cities in understanding a culture, both lack of cultural representativeness of some global cities and difficulty to include the cultural diversity in some countries tell us that large cities are not always the best means to understand the characteristics of a country. Taken together, I cannot fully agree with the speaker’s assertion. Only by ignoring these problems could one claim that we need only to observe several large cities to understand a society.