To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Recognizing a society by studying the major cities is true because of three reasons. First, some societies are changing very fast and usually changes start from major cities. As an instance, society in my country is changing rapidly. Life styles have changed in a way that current generation can not understand the previous generation. In this condition, when you take a trip to a small city in my country you are also moving in the time and going to the past. For example, in the small cities people are more religious, families are bigger, wemon are not aware of their rights and even some man have two wifes. In this condition, if some one go to small cities to know my society he would ge information about the past.

Second, people in big cities usually are more aware of political and cultural issues. Major cities usually change the political and cultural direction of a society. As an instance, 40 years ago a revolution happened in Iran. The revolution started from Tehran which was the capital city. There are couple of NGOs that are working toward human rights that all are located in major cities.

Third, most of history of a nation have happned in major cities. As an instance, there are three cities in Iran which have been the capital cities during the last 1000 years. Most of the cultural centers, building which are symbols of the history are located in these cities. Therefore, taking a trip to these three major cities would give a short history of our country.

On the contrary, some people argue that major cities are not all of a society and small cities sometimes have their own culture. Consequently, some people believe that you would not get a exhastive undestanding of a society if you just study major cities. Although, major cities would not present all information about a society but I think major cities give you the most updated knowledge about a society.