To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The characteristics of a society are an outcome of the conditions surrounding the people of the society, their work life and their culture which means that depending upon the living and the working conditions of a society, the major characteristics are bound to vary from one part of a society to another. Thus one cannot expect to understand the most important characteristics of a society by just studying its major cities. No doubt that the people of the major cities are represented on a larger scale and thus are highlighted as compared to those residing in smaller towns but a shift in the characteristics can be observed when we move from a major city to a smaller town.

The work life of the people in the major cities is quite hectic because the major cities are often more developed than the other cities and small towns which makes the people of major cities more self absorbed, busy and less liable to interact with the people near them like their neighbours and relatives. However the people in the other cities which are not considered the major cities and those in small towns are simpler and they are not so much work enthusiasts as the people in major cities so a shift in the behavior can be observed making people in such smaller cities more interactive with their neighbours and relatives and their work schedule is less hectic than those living in major cities. Such people will then engage more in public life while people in major cities have an active professional life rather than a public life. The culture also varies from major cities to smaller cities so the most important characteristics will also change .

India is one such example where we can see a marked difference in the characteristics of the society from one city to another. The major cities of India include Delhi and Mumbai whose people have more freedom than those in the other cities. The women in such major cities have the freedom to work outside their home while the women in many smaller towns and minor cities are restricted to go out for work and thus remain as mere housewives. The literacy rate is also more in these major cities while the children in various other cities like Uttar Pradesh and Bihar are engaged in child labour and are deprived of education. Moreover, due to heterogenity in the major cities because people from all different areas come to pursue their careers in these cities , the major cities see a mix of various cultures while the other cities and smaller towns have a homogeneous society and hence the culture is same throughout such cities.

It is thus quite evident that by studying the major cities one cannot learn about the most important characteristics of a society. A few characteristics may be similar but the major characretistics will vary because of their different lifestyles and culture.