To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

I could not agree with above statement .It is absurd to say only studying major cities will reflect the essential characteristic of the society . A society might be amalgam both cities and rural areas . studying Cities alone won't be of much help .

If we take Lifestyle of a particular society people into account , the lifestyle varies differently for city people and village people . In some cities people might have be following different life style . Just by seeing the flashy life style of city we can not categorize the society is a well mannered or well educated society . If we take country India as an example 70% of the population live in villages . but Most of the IT and BT software companies located in silicon city of India that is Bangalore . Just studying one of the major cities like Bangalore , we can gather information about what is happening in Bangalore , or background about Bangalore or of Bangalore People, or political and new grown in technology . But city Bangalore does not reveal completely the actual Traditional Values of India . To learn about a country or societies complete History , characteristic and wellness , one needs to interact with people or by observing people . Most of the time what happens is cities people will be just busy in their scheduled work . They wont get enough time to share their thoughts . So I feel villagers are the best option if one is looking for opinions about culture . It is all about getting information .

There might be poverty in the nation . you will get a chance to learn poverty unequivocally from village . Village is simply the reflect of the whole people's lives . No ostentation . Everything will be straightforward . It would be easier for one from other society learn quickly by seeing with evidence in villages and those chances are very less in cities .and moreover the statement asserts we need to study major city to learn about characteristics .

Each city is like DNA of each individual person . As how a person has unique characteristics each city will be famous for it's own culture , attitude and for its traditional values . say person wants to spend some quality time in minor city not major city then studying or observing major city does not impute to his knowledge of the society and won't help in leading his stay in minor cities . Based on requirement One has to decide studying which city is more advantageous rather than studying completely outbound concepts is of futile .

In conclusion , major cities do provide valuable insights in terms of political , current affairs or new technologies but one should also mind studying minor cities along with major cities to garner solid information about a society .