To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement interlinks the society research with the study of its major cities. This essay cogently undermines the relevance of capitals or metropolitan areas for society research, let alone all the “twists and turns” of a country. In my humble opinion, globalization has simultaneously put in peril the social identity transforming major cities in global centers with multicultural inhabitants and vanished cultural heritage.

Compared to outlined above, statement posits that major cities provide the opportunity to study thoroughly the most salient characteristics of a society. The assumption is that the major city reflects the economic and social development at a faster pace, compared to rural areas or suburbs. Hitherto major cities were mainly the hub where all the goods flocked to. As a quick remark, markets, located in the Roman Forum, are the most striking example. Attracted by large gatherings, market traders and ambulant hawkers brought goods produced in distant regions.

In contrast to the statement, when national traits are preserved through waves of migration, we can hardly assert that major cities continue to serve as a window to have a peep at the society’s most salient characteristics. The prior example reveals that globalization’s impact is irredeemable. For example, London being the largest city in the UK is also home to one of the most ethnically diverse populations in the worlds. As a matter of fact, one-third of all Londoners are foreign-born, and over 200 languages are spoken throughout its streets and neighbourhoods. This diversity encourages profound shifts in culture and social identity. Indeed, setting the sociological research in London would lead to a fallacious picture of british society.

Seemingly, in order to get a representative picture and to delineate the religious, cultural and ethical traits, research should go to suburbs - as it’s very likely these townships would be consisted of native inhabitants, who have been able to retain their traditions through generations. Likewise, people in rural areas tend to be more garrulous - to that end, setting interviews might help to gather data to establish deep connection between cultural phenomena.

Major cities will always mark the economic and political development of the nation, giving birth to new policies that will have far-reaching effects throughout country. Yet with further cross-border integration among nations, multicultural people will continue flocking to capitals implicitly obliterating the cultural traits.