To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

What are the most important characteristics of a society? Certainly, culture, history, customs, cuisine, social behaviour, ideals, politics, economics, etc. are the most essential tenets that unify any society. The author contends that the most important characteristics of any society can be understood by studying its major cities. While some of the important aspects of a society are better understood in cities, it is imperative to study communities in rural areas and towns to understand a society in its entirety.

Verily, major cities act as intellectual, academic, political art and often architectural hearts of a country. Being centres for colleges, universities and institutions of learning, major cities act as intellectual and academic hub of a society. Similarly, with the government offices, parliament and premiere’s residence in place, studying capital cities may provide insight into the political functioning of a country. Moreover, metropolitans also serve as a platform to project a society’s aesthetic and literary accomplishments through theatres, museums, library, etc. because their operation and maintenance require capital as well as big market which may be lacking in rural or smaller cities. For instance, libraries provide avenues to showcase scholarly work, painters showcase their talent in art galleries and so on. Then there are some big cities that highlight the architectural or historical legacy of a society. For instance, while every nook and corner of the city of Rome speaks about the bygone Roman architecture, the tower of London and London Bridge reveal much about the British history.

However, there are myriad other characteristics such as economics, social behaviour, ideals and customs which are more visible in rural areas and towns. This is especially true when the demographic distribution of a country is concentrated in the rural areas. For example, India is an agrarian economy with a big chunk of population having traditional occupation of farm related activities. Needless to say, such a trend cannot be understood in an Indian metropolis and the same holds true for other professions such as lock making, handicrafts, handloom weaving, hand-made leather footwear which flourish in some smaller traditional towns.

Moreover, due to lack of connectivity and immigration, the endogamous rural population don’t integrate or assimilate with other groups thus helping them to retain their social behaviour, customs and ideals in pristine form. For instance, the Arabian Bedouins are known for their distinct nomadic lifestyle, woollen clothes, herding and livestock, poetry honesty, forthrightness, etc. Certainly, while studying Dubai might provide understanding about the petrodollar driven modernization and globalization of the Emirati society, one cannot get the glimpse of the original Arabian Bedouin culture without venturing out in outskirt deserts.

Finally, modernization, globalization and fast-paced life of cities have served to adulterate their native culture. Most of the major cities round the world are now more a part of a global society and have lost their original roots. This is further corroborated by the fact that people busy to earn their livelihood have little time to pay attention to their cultural traditions. They prefer McDonald's over their traditional cuisine, multiplexes over classical theater shows, night clubs over campfire songs, solemn court marriages over classical wedding ceremonies, corporate or casual attire over cultural costumes and what not. Similarly, influx of international immigrants due to better job and living standards assures that the original culture is diluted. It is for this reason that popping up of numerous oriental and Asian restaurants in London over the few decades has served to take off the focus from traditional English breakfast from the visitors and the locals.

In conclusion, the statement is agreeable to the extent that many important societal characteristics such as intellectual and academic achievements, politics, art and architecture, etc. can be understood by studying its major societies. However, understanding of other equally essential elements of a society such as culture, economics, social behaviour, etc. are better facilitated by rural areas for their significant share in the population and ability to retain the purity of those aspects due to lack of assimilation into other groups. The adulteration and dilution of native culture brought about by modernization and globalization of major cities also corroborate this fact.