To Understand the Most Important Characteristics of a Society, One Must Study Its Major Cities.

We will neglect our cities to our peril, for in neglecting them we neglect the nation.” John F. Kennedy’s seminal remark serves to put the topic in perspective. The question states that the most important or defining characteristics of any society are contained in its major cities, studying which will result in a better understanding of the same. In my opinion, the argument is partly true and differs across regions.

I state my case by highlighting the non-homogenous and diverse nature of several global cities. To that end, major cities like London, New York, or Mumbai are agglomerations of diverse cultures, resulting in cosmopolitan traits which are often non-representative of traditional societal characteristics of their underlying regions. Yet, some cities like Paris or Kolkata are examples of urban centers which uphold societal characteristics intrinsic to the State or region.

Paris is synonymous with French culture and cuisine. From its leisurely meals to farm-to-table dining (showcasing indigenous cuisine) and institutions like the Louvre and Eiffel Tower, Paris is as French as it gets. Despite globalized traits, it still upholds many French societal traditions and customs. In a similar vein, Kolkata is a major Indian metropolis but still upholds societal traits of the State of West Bengal (of which it is the capital) through its festivals, ceremonies, cuisine, and cultural landmarks. Hence, the ability of a major city to uphold the most important societal characteristics is governed by its overall population mix, industrialization levels, and the efforts made by Governments and the citizenry to uphold local traditions, habits, and cultures.

I would like to conclude by stating that not all major cities are created equally. Hence, the argument is subjective. It holds true for some cities where indigenous societal systems are upheld either naturally or through collective measures.