To understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In deve

The modern world cities reflect upon the various aspects of society and its development. The prompt addresses this topic by accentuating that a study of major cities can provide lots of information regarding their characteristics. I mostly agree with this position for two reasons outlined below. However, I do believe that leaving out the minor cities completely might not be a very efficacious idea.

Firstly, most people migrate from small towns and cities to the nearby major cities in search of jobs. This makes the cities rich with different cultures, customs, and characteristics. For example, the city of Delhi has different types of people - from high class, aristocratic people to the migrant daily-wage laborers from the villages situated in the vicinity of Delhi. Likewise, the city of Mumbai, which is one of the other largest cities in India, is highly populated with a protean population. Such a varied population can help a lot in comprehending the characteristics of a society emphatically. Thus, the major cities comprising of a large number of people from different regions and cultures could be very helpful in analyzing the characteristics of a society in the best possible way.

Secondly, a majority of the people in the cities are quite learned individuals who could express their feelings and deliver their wisdom if and when asked about their opinion on the given topic. For instance, educated people would truly understand the purpose of the survey and try to answer the questions in the most logical way. The poor and uneducated people in the villages and small cities, on the other hand, could find it hard to comprehend the questions. In addition, not only can an educated person in a large city express his or her beliefs with cogency but also help the uneducated or poor individuals(like house helps, daily wage workers) to express themselves in an unequivocal manner. Hence, this might make the entire process of understanding the tropes prevalent among different classes of society quite uninvolved. Thus, surveying the people in large cities could bring in a more lucid understanding of its features.

However, I do concede that leaving out the small cities and villages completely might not be extremely beneficial. For example, though the people in large cities communicate with clarity, it cannot be said for true if they still remember what they felt when they used to live in villages or small towns a few decades back. This could result in a flawed interpretation of the cultures prevalent in small cities and towns.

In conclusion, the major cities can provide tons of information regarding the characteristics of a society. However, leaving the small cities and villages out of the picture might not serve very well.