To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If one want´s to understand society, firstly seems ok to look to the major cities. But, if we look deeper, we can see that it´s not right. We are all part of a big group, with different religions, cultures, places and ways of living, that, when added, result in what we call society.

First of all, if we characterize a society by means of crowds, it´s not always true that the most part of the population is in the major cities. For exemple, most part of the African countries have more than a half of their population living in the rural areas. So, if we would take this into account, what should we conclude about it´s society? People in Africa are dancing, speaking their own lenguage, paying their bills and trying to live in community as much as anyone who lives in New York, so we should definitely take their characteristics in account when trying to understand society.

Nonetheless it´s very reasonable to understand why one could think that it´s enough to study only the major cities to understand the hole society. The picture we see in tv, for exemple, is that everything happens in these places. These major cities are normaly the stages of the main political e economical events in the world, thus we forget that different places may even exist and be part of the same society.

In short, it´s not enough to study only the major cities if one wants to understand the characteristics of a society, even if it´s only the most importante ones, because everyone, everywhere, has it´s importance and should be taken in account.