To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

To analyze and comprehend the structure and nature of a particular society is not a menial task. One may need to bend over backwards in just enumerating the various factors in which a society may vary. In any society, people belong to different ethnicities, speak different languages and eat different kinds of food. Yet, the prompt here suggests that to analyze the fundamental eccentricities of a culture, one may suffice by studying its major urban centers. I mildly disagree with this point of view because of two reasons stated below, although I do concede that, the cities being the magnet for all kinds of people, can be a good starting point to get a rudimentary understanding of the shared traditions and ethics.

Firstly, by limiting oneself to only the major cities, one may miss the rustic and pastoral qualities and nature of the particular society in question. It is in the villages where the culture of a country takes birth and is thoroughly nurtured. For example, New Delhi- the capital of India, has a lot of people from different backgrounds that have migrated here in search of work. Yet, if we ask - Is it representative of the entire country? - one may be forced to say no. As people living in the city life vary entirely in terms of what they wear, how they speak, and even the pace at which they live in their daily lives. Whereas, in a place like Tosh, a small village in the state of Himachal Pradesh, the local people wake up at 4 am in the morning as they need to fill to gather their water supplies, collect wood for important activities and to pray to their preferred gods. Hence, the difference in this basic philosophy of life may completely alter the results of a study that is entirely focused on the major cities as it may not capture these specific behaviors of the masses.

Secondly, the people who come from small villages to cities tend to alter their behavioral pattern. Sometimes when they go back to their hometowns, their friends and family are schocked to see the trasnformation that they have gone through. For example, if a boy who received his high school eduction in a small village and then migrates to a large city for college or university courses, will have to entirely adjust to the city life. He may initally face many issues in getting involved with the social community. For instance, he may not be highly adept in english and may feel inferior, so he would work on it and start communicating more and more in English. In addition, he may wear certain kinds of clothes in his village, which may seem rather provincial to his new friends and he would slowly accomodate for a new style of clothing into his closet. Further, he may also have less time for daily prayers and activities as there are so many distractions in a fast paced life of a city. Hence, we can see that conducting a study which includes this person may still not yield accurate results.

However, I do agree there might be logistical barriers in conducting a nation-wide study. Therfore, one may choose to conduct the study in big urban centers, wherein one hopes to get a taste of all kinds of cultures and traditions intermingling with each other. It may very well provide the knowledge of the fundamental characterstics of a society. Especially, the most robust ones which have stood the test of time and the tough city life. Therefore, one may allow for this anomaly to ensure that such a study can at least be conducted to verify or collect the basic information.

To conclude, one may state that the results of such a study about the characterstics of a society may not be completely trusted. Nevertheless, such a study should be conducted with the goal of getting a basic understanding or at least as a starting point for other detailed studies.