Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Napoleon Bonaparte quoted "A leader is a dealer in hope", thus a leader should understand each and every aspect which can help him/her to take a calculated decision which should turn out to be beneficial for the people. In my opinion understanding the past is of paramount importance for the present day leaders. I would like to support my assertion based on several reasons in the subsequent paragraphs followed by a conclusion.

First, the knowledge of past provides the leader a great understanding about several mistakes and bad decisions opted by the leaders at that point of time. This knowledge improves the leaders decisions and also turns out to be advantageous for the public. For example, considering the mid 20th century phase of the Indian subcontinent which was then a british colony. After a series of movements and oppositions India was declared an independent state. However, some of the decision taken by the then goverment like the paritioning of the country into India, East and West Pakistan, along with the decisions on the diamond Kohinoor are considered as bad decisions by many of the critics. The present leaders need to understand the reasons and analyse these kind of decisions such that they are not repeated in the near future. As a result, a solid background of the past and thorough analysis of the these decisions makes a leader complete.

The knowledge of past helps the leader not only to learn from mistakes but also to analyse the social - cultural aspect of a society, the mindset of the natives along with the desired needs and associated hinderances faced by the people. This can help the leader to develope specific development plans which could be widely acknowledged and accepted by the people of the locality. For example, if the leader of a town understand the problem faced by the people in the locality by observing the past such as drainage issue, floods, poor transportation facilities and poor education facilities. He/She can create a development plan based on these specific areas and thus it can improve the life of the people. For this reason, the leader will be venerated by the people and the chances of his/her re-election would also increase. On the other hand, if the representative would have been unaware of these problems pertaining in the locality, he/she would create a generic development model which would turn out to be a waster and he/she won't be appriciated by the natives.

A reasonable person could say that perception and needs of the people in a locality changes with time and understanding of the past won't serve that advantage. But since the cultural and social background are inhered by the people by their ancestor knowledge of past is essential. Additionally, it is advisable that the leader should not commit the same mistake deliberately committed in the past and thus would analyse and understand the implications of past decisions which would increase his/her skillset in better decision making.