Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Is the understanding of past useless in order to be a good leader, and therefore should focus only on contemporary events instead? Or, on the other hand, is it necessary to understand the history, if leaders want to identify the correct causes of contemporary situation and therefore be helpful in order to find some future solution?

First of all, understanding the past can highly benefit those in power or learership position. Moreover, every statement or businessmen should understand it in order to be able to correctly apply her or his agenda in practice. For example, understanding the country's realities might make work of any politician much easier, and understanding history should be even desirable. Applying any reform without correct understanding of history of the country would lead to deleterious effect afterwards. Applying reform of interest rates without understanding of history of high interest rates of the country, or its dependence on exports could lead to many difficulties afterwards. History is affected the present, what subsequently creates causal relationship. In order to change the future, we need certainly know how first variable came to contemporary state and what what the cause of it. There is nothing more, only correct understanding of history which can solve this enigma. Only by understanding the history of globalization, we can opt for global tax reform or global ecologic agenda

However, relying on history should neither be excessive. Understanding historic development of Czechoslovakia can be highly beneficial in order to understand how the countries are performing nowadays, or what lead them to this contemporary state. But reality of hundres years ago has certainly evolved and using history to explain what people might think nowadays, as one of the most important clues for a good leader, can be distorted by excessively use of history. If one leader wants to know, why people in one region have more extreme and nationalistic tendencies than the other one, it is easy to find some fact from a long history which can buttress such a tendency. However, people have changed, and so on the opinion and realities, and therefore the reason for such tendencies can be easily found in contemporary propaganda of regional leaders, with no real catalysator in the history. Moreover, this tool is used by plenty of populistic leader nowadays and have strong deleterious effect on the wellbeing of citizens.

Probably the best position would be the middle ground taken and the only way how to not fall into the trap of excessive use of the history is critical thinking. People should analyse and question the worlds event in critical way, and try to get the best possible conclusion. Only by questioning and continual thinking, it can be correctly explained, when the history correctly explains the predilection of the employees or citizens of certain company or country respectively, however, as world is perpetually evolving, critical thinking should be used to find the frontier of this effect.

The answer to this statement is certainly not one sided and we can agree with it to certain way. The way in which history is beneficial for the contemporary leaders depends only on the level of their critical thinking.