Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

It is true to some extent that the past is of little value to leaders who wish gain insights to help them carry out their roles in a more effective manner. It maybe so because there could be vast differences in the priorties of leaders who held the position previously. Let us consider the case of Microsoft 's Steve Balmer who was bullish in the later half of the decade in expanding his company's line of products , solely focusing on building products for desktop computes since that is what helped them achieve a dominant position towards the end of the twentieth century. However going in to the next century this approach backfired and he now found himself struggling to maintain the status of being market leader as competitors diversed into building products for mobile as well as desktop computers and his company could not keep up since their focus lied on building only one line of products.

Often circumstances play a huge part in deciding the path leader takes to guide their organization as well. The communist regime of China shunned its agrarian approach of the early 90's and made an agressive approach to industrialize its economy which is now paying dividends as it sees itself as one the most successful economies of the past decade.

The demographics of a society also force their leaders to choose a path different to their predecessors because their needs and aspirations have changed. The youth may tend to focus on learning new skills to elevate themselves out of poverty while the generation prior to them may want to consolidate on what has worked for them in the past. It is a fine line that leaders have to learn to tread to strike a balance between the two.

However leaders must be careful that in the quest for change they don't forgo their values and ethics which have been instilled in them . Afterall it is the mistakes of the past from which they must learn and ensure it leaves a legacy to look upon once the relinquish their position.

There must indeed be subtle balance between the needs of the future while the leaders should also consolidate on the strengths they have acquired by the experience from the past. In the quest for change one must not look to reinvent the wheel.