Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the development of information technologies, news and messages are widely spread with a much faster speed than before. Thus, anything positive or negative influences the people around the world instantly. The statement claims that creating an appealing image overweighs the truth behind that image. However, personally, in most of the time people living around the world deserve the truth, but in certain circumstances hiding the truth behind the pleasing image would be beneficial for the society.

The truth, reflecting one of the moral standards - integrity, should be treated as an inborn right for every citizen. People deserve truth as a tool to supervise how a government functions. In many countries in the world, corruption is a severe issue that can not be solved from the root. Those officers who are corrupted often conceal the truth by posting positive news or images for the public, showing that they are devoted to the work for citizens. Should we torent this kind of appealing image? The answer is absolutely no. Thus, there are institutions, media, and even citizens themselves to observe what officers do and investigate what they own.

The truth, is also needed for the fairness, and it is especially necessary in terms of laws. If a court disobeys the truth behind a crime and judges based on whatever can mislead the judgment, the society will lose its confidence in the authority institutions. In the past few years, the Chinese government has been criticized for concealing the truth behind sever public accidents. For example, in the high-speed train accident happened in Zhejiang Province, two trains crashed due to a signal transmission issue, resulting in that the trains fell out of the track with hundreds of people injured. However, as an unspeakable routine, the death number of people in the accident is below 35. In this case, the highest direct officer which refers to the head of the province does not need to be deposed. There are more severe accidents in the past with such number below 35, thus, citizens have been censuring the government for hiding the truth behind.

Certainly, it is true that in certain circumstances, creating a positive image might be needed if the purpose of this is to ensure the stability of the society. If the truth behind the event might cause a commotion or even revolution, the government have the right to weigh the pros and cons of revealing the truth, and conceal the truth if necessary. For example, in the 60s, the Chinese government has committed a wide-range action across the nation to clear the opponents and censure the scholars. It was roughly mentioned in the history book without elaborating on how severe the action resulted. From a citizen, we might childe the government due to its dishonesty. But if we consider the problem from the government's perspective, it is undertstanble that by doing this the party which is in charge of China now could stabilize his authority. It sounds self-interest, but it might be beneficial not only for the government but also the public.

To sum up, knowing the truth is a privilege that we deserve and we should fight for, but it is not always necessary to reveal the truth for everyone. In certain circumstance concerning with a higher priority like social stability, public health issue or other major issues, the truth might need to be concealed.