Do You Agree or Disagree with the Following Statement: Movies and Television Have More Negative Effects Than Positive Effects on the Way Young People Behave.

To begin with, the statement that the negative influences of movies and television outweighs the positive influences on young people is an intriguing topic because nowadays teenagers and kids tend to prefer digital medias such as movies and television rather than traditional books. In my point of view, I disagree with this statement and I believe that movies and television actually are more advantageous.

Firstly, movies and television are conducive for spreading infomation including news, talk shows, advertisements, etc. People around the world watch movies and television everyday to gain the information about the latest status of every corner in the world. For example, when I was 9 years old, I watched the news on the television regarding 911 tragedy happened in the United States. It was such an impressive disaster that made me realize that it is not always safe to live in this planet. If television was not invented at that time, I would not have seen the video of an story occurred in another nation opposite the ocean.

In addition, television and movies are important for education. China is very large country with thirty plus provinces which diverse on the economy, population and educations. For example, in certain rural areas in China, the English teachers were not well-trained as those in major cities, thus students in such areas cannot hear authentic and native English at class. However, nowadays, English channels and English movies are popular and young people could watch these medias to learn oral English and listening.

Certainly, someone might counter the statement by claiming that young people are getting more frequently addicted to movies and television, which brings harm to their study. In other words, digital medias are more likely to induce teenagers to spend a lot of time in it. For example, one of my friend named Andy, who watched television every day when he was in middle school. In the beginning of the school term, he was one of those best-in-class students. However, with the time spent in watching television, his grade tumbled and he was really regretful few years later. Therefore, parents and teachers should take the responsibility to educate the teenagers what to watch and how to watch, since they are still young and unware about this.

In conclusion, even though there are some downsides of watching movies and television, they are possible to be controlled or corrected. In addition, movies and television provide us with much more positive effects such as spreading infomation, enhancing educations and reinforcing communications.