Universities should require every student take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

It is a new trend to do interdisciplinary researches, the essence of which is to apply the basic subjects like math, physics, chemistry, computer science to other fields. Considering that more interdisciplinary talents will be needed in the future, the speaker argure that universities should ask all the students to take additional courses outside their own majors. While the statement has its reasons, I mostly disagree with it because the suggestion is so blind and absolute and there is a better alternative suggestion which can satisfy its original goal with less negative consequences.

Some people who support the statement may argue that students who know more about othe fields can have a broader view and will be more insightful and creative so that they are more likely to have better career prospects. As a interdisciplinary student of biology and physics, I have deeply experienced the benefits it brings. For instance, it is usually difficult for the biology students to insightfully understand the mechanism of vision: how our human eyes can see the object, which, however, is much easier if we are equipped with physical science about light, wave, quantum mechanics. Another particularly salient example is the Elon Musk who has the double degree of the physics and economy. He once, in the commencement adress of Stanford University, told the students to think from the first principle if they would like to have more original ideas, which is more common in physics. These examples illustrate that learning something outside one's own major are necessary and helpful in some circumstances.

The statement, however, ignores the interest coming from our inside which determines how much time and energy we would like to spend on these courses and how much we really learn from them. Supposing that a student who are required to take various additional courses outside his own major, he may be busy with these courses and be tired of them even hate them. We have to notice that interest have to be taken into consideration even if these additional courses are extremely well designed and useful. So, it may be better to encourage students to choose additional courses they are interested instead of making these courses compulsory.

Besides, the suggestion is not applicable to all the majors because some majors are hard to find helpful additional courses. For instance, how could we come out any other courses which are very helpful and necessary for the students whose major is Chinese? If we blindly require these Chinese Nahor students to learn some courses like advanced physics and math which may are indispensable for students of science and engineering, what interdisciplinary talents can we expect to cultivate? The example shows that the suggestion is so absolute and not practical.

From all discussed above, while the statement may have its good intentions, I mostly object to it because it ignores the factor of interest and it is not suitable for all cases. And I would like to put up an alternative suggestion that universities can list all the related and helpful additional courses and encourage students to choose some according to their own interest and the plan for the future.