Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Education and grades is an important factor deciding the future of student. In my opinion I would mostly agree with the argument made in the prompt. Students must be given a choice of attending courses that he or she is interested in.

Humans generally excel in their careers when they are doing what interests them the most. Consider the example of Einstein, He was interested in Physics and took bachelors in physics from ETH Zürich. However he was asked to learn literature to get an admission, which took him an another year to get admitted. If he had that extra one year in his life he would have solved many other mysteries in the field of science. Students like to give more energy and time in fields of their interest.

Poor performance in courses affects a student grades. A student may not get good scores in the subject he or she is not interested. These low grades might be hinderance while finding a job in future. It's our common human experience, that we don't like doing something that doesn't interests us.

I would suggest there are some cons of giving unlimited freedom to students while choosing courses. Some students might not be have developed interest in the field, so they would like to find their interests by pursuing some mandatory courses in the university. These mandatory courses might be the base foundation of many other courses.

In my conclusion, I would suggest there should little restriction on core courses which needs compulsorily pursued by the student, they should be given the choice of pursuing one's interests in the form of electives.