"The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than written records."

Does video camera provide an important form of documentation of contemporary life that is more accurate and convincing than any written records? The speaker claims so. I agree with the speaker that in some cases a video clip can show much more things than a written document cannot express.

Video recording is a lively representation of a story or a situation. Suppose, a video is captured to show the intensity of a storm in Carolina. By this video clip anyone can see how the storm attack, the intensity, the loss and damages that is caused by the storm. Whereas if a written document is published about the storm then by reading this document anyone can hardly realize the intensity of the storm.

Again, a video recording can play an evidentiary role in legal proceeding such as- in drug traffic, murdering, rubbering, rape etc. In this cases video recording are very strong evidence to identify the guilty person. A video recording of a wedding ceremony, a surprise birthday party can easily bring someone to their sweet past memory, one can reply again and again to feel that happy moment once more.

On the other hand, if we represent the history of a particular city then written records are more informative and important then any video documentation. Anyone can learn about a city or about a country by reading more and more of their history. Again, the rules and regulation of an organization, the policies of a country, the agreement between two groups should be documenting in written form rather than in a video form.

If we consider a cricket match as an example, the rules, scores, name of the players and many other things are documented in written form. Whereas the whole game is documented as a recording. If an umpire in the field is unable to take any decision the third umpire reply the recording again and again to take an exact decision. So, in this case both written and video documentation are equally important.

Finally, it can be concluded that written documentation as well as video documentation both are accurate and convincing in the term of the situation. So in this case the speaker is partially correct.