As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

This argument states that things are getting more arcane and convoluted as humankind accumulates more knowledge. However, I argue that things are only getting clearer when we acquire more knowledge.

The reason why we acquire knowledge is to understand how this world works. With experience, it can point out a causal relationship of a thing. Before the Enlightenment, people always attributed everything to God because of a lack of knowledge. God is the source of everything at that time. With expertise accumulating over time, we can see through the appearance of a thing and find out how it works. For example,

as Newton finds out the reason why apples always fall to the ground, we have a broader sense about the force of gravity makes us stand on the surface of the Earth instead of explaining this with a cause we never can put a test on it. As a result, knowledge makes things more comprehensible.

However, this argument says we make thing more complicated and mysterious when we find out a causal relationship of a situation. With more details of a casual relationship, it is sure that things are getting more complicated. As an individual, things seem to be more mysterious. For a person who knows nothing about how a computer works, all tech-stuffs looks like magic to him. At the time that TV just invented, people might think that there were a bunch of actors hidden in that little box to perform a show.

Nevertheless, from a general view of all humankind, it does not conclude that things are getting more mysterious than before, because we acquire more knowledge about everything as a whole. For example, once we know that laws of demand and supply determine market prices, we don’t say that we are getting more unsure about how the cost of a stock will rise or fall. We get a necessary background about how a thing works, and we have more confidence to find out factors related to demand and supply such as numbers of suppliers, numbers of consumers. As more studies published, we should have a clearer insight toward a complete understanding of how a thing works and have the ability to make life better.

To sum up, it is not appropriate to state that things become more complex and mysterious when we acquire more knowledge. In reality, things are getting more comprehensible than before though in a more complex way that an individual can understand.