We can learn much more from people whose views we share than the people whose views contradict our own ; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Do we learn more from people whose views we share than the people whose views contradict ours? The speaker claims so. I don't think so. In my view we learn more from the people whose views contradict our views and also disagreement does not inhibit learning totally.

Disagreement makes us think about various prospects of a topic. It helps us in gaining a comprehensive view over a topic rather than a narrow one sided view. Lets take the example of latest petition against issuing of job visa to foreigners in USA. The native americans dont want this much amount of visa to be issued to foreigners. On the other side, If foreigners stop getting work visa they will not work in USA leaving native american deprived of global intelligence and competition.Here If you agree only with americans you will see that it is good for them that foreigners dont compete with them but on the other side it is also good that they compete and improve their growth.So disagreement with the view here is giving one wide view on the issue.

Disagreement helps in obtaining the shortcomings of a thought. For example take the debate where everyone is speaking about the each women should be given some privilege in am a male dominated society. Agreeing with fact is good but you will not see the other face of the debate without disagreement. The other face where women take inappropriate advantages of these privileges given to them. Hence this shortcoming is neglected.

Disagreement helps in improvement of thought process. If you disagree with someone it will branch your thought to some other direction, leading to improved results. Take the example of thought that children should concentrate more on studying rather than playing. But disagreeing with this thought help you in thinking about good effects of sports on children hence improving the thought process.

So praising the fact that disagreement doesn't inhibit learning I would not say Agreement doesn't cause any good. Agreement helps in improving the thought one is agreeing with. suppose we think of globalisation for the growth of a country . So agreeing with this fact doesn't do any bad to the country. But obviously disagreement gives you a wide field view of view.

So, Agreement and Disaagreement are like two edges of sword . Each of them have some acuteness to cut an object. Disagreement makes your thinking broad and your view wide Whereas agreement improvises your thinking. Both are helpful in the growth of thought process. But disagreement do it better.