We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When there are different views about the same issue, whether discussing with people who share the same view with us or talking to people who oppose to our views can lead to more learning is open to debate. The statement argues that people usually learn more from people who support their own vires. However, I believe that we can learn more from people who deny our own opinions.

It is reasonable for people to suggest that we can learn more from the supporters of our views. We only learn new things when we accept the new information we encounter; hence, it is more likely for us to accept the new information provided by the supporters of our view than those supplied by the opponents. Moreover, although the supporters share the same opinion with us, it is possible that we see the original question differently and hence, reach the conclusion in different ways. Hence, talking to people who support our own views can help us gain useful information. However, it should be noted that although there is variation in terms of how people understand the issue, this variation is limited because the supporters of our views share the same ground with us – we all agree with one particular solution of the issue. Hence, discussing with the supporters may not help us gain valuable knowledge.

In contrast to people who support our views, the opponents of our views obtain higher variations in terms of how they understand the issue. Hence, we can learn more from talking to opponents. There are reasons why those people choose to vote against our opinions. It is highly likely that they see the fundamental aspects of the issue different with us or they know some relevant information we don’t possess. When these happen, it is highly valuable to suppliant this information by listening to the opponents of our view.

Some people may argue that talking with people who disagree with your views may be stressful and hence, discourage you from learning from them. However, I argue that this stress brought by the opponents, if used properly, can be a strong incitement to the person. In order to defend his or her views, the person may devote more energy in searching for information relevant to the issue and strive to achieve a deeper understanding of the problem. By acquiring a better understanding of the issue, the person may gain a new view or even reject the earlier view. Meanwhile, in the process of defending the person’s opinions, the person may see the shortcomings of his or her view. This discovery of the shortcomings can point to the person a direction he or she can go to improve the argument.

From the above discussion, we can see that we can gain valuable information by talking to both the supporters and the opponents of our views. These two approaches both have their own pros and cons. Although it may be easier for the person to accept and truly learn new information from the supporters, it is hard for the person to gain novel knowledge by merely talking to the supporters. On the other hand, it can be hard to learn from the opponents of our views because we may reject to accept the information they offer due to the aversion to their stands. However, from the opponents, we can learn more different ways in which people see the fundamental aspects of the issue; we can learn the shortcomings of our views, and we can be motivated to actively obtain a deeper view of the original problem.