As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As technology advances, many tasks that are originally done by humans are now accomplished by machines and algorithms. Some people argue that because technologies can solve lots of problems for humans, we are losing the ability to think for ourselves. I support this view conservatively. Although we may lose some of the ability to solve simple problems that can be resolved by technologies, our ability to discuss problems that cannot be conquered by the computers may get better.

First of all, I acknowledge that our ability to solve easy problems can deteriorate since these problems can mostly be solved by technologies for us. Although the human brain is a natural computer that can solve many problems, our ability to do mental computation will only keep up at a high level of proficiency if we keep practicing those mental computational functions. As technology takes over the tasks, our ability to handle those tasks will deteriorate due to the lack of practice. One example would be the deterioration of our ability to do easy math computation. As the calculators become easily accessible, we rely more and more on the machines to do math calculation while stop using our brain. As a result, our ability to do math calculation declined. However, not all human reasoning abilities are experiencing this deterioration.

Humans’ ability to think about complex scientific problems gets better as technology advances. Because technologies take over the simple tasks that need to be finished before discussing the complex questions, researchers have more mental space for those convoluted problems. For example, when effective math computation algorithms haven’t been created, psychologists need to do complex mathematical calculations by hand just to analyze their data. The mental and physical frustration caused by this exacting task can diminish the researchers’ ability to further discuss the results on a theoretical level. What’s more, due to the limitations of the human mind, the volume of data and the degree of complexity of the data collected are severely suppressed. Hence, the researchers can only extract limited information from the data, which further constrain their ability to discuss the results in a deeper level. The advancement of technology solves both of the problems discussed above. With powerful algorithms, researchers can collect a large volume of data and analyze it easily. Without the mental frustration and the limitations of the data, researchers are able to explore the deep-level implication of their results.

Because technologies do not have the ability to solve moral problems yet, humans’ moral reasoning ability is not affected by the development of technology. Although I acknowledge that the powerful computers and algorithms today are good at scientific computation, none of them can discuss moral problems as human beings. Hence, humans still have abundant opportunities to practice our moral reasoning ability without the worry that the ability may deteriorate.

In conclusion, the use of technology decreases our opportunities to solve simple questions by ourselves, which results in the deterioration of our ability to think about those problems. However, technologies also take off the mental burden created by those simple computational processes, which lead to the improvement of our ability to think about complex questions. Meanwhile, our ability to think about moral problems will not be affected by the development of technology yet, since none of the algorithms have the ability to understand human morality.