“We live under the illusion that we know what we want, when actually we merely want what we are supposed to want.”

The author in the statement asserts that we live in illusion about the things that we want to do. Even I agree with the first part statement that we live illusion that we know what we want. However, I believe the author goes too far, by suggesting that we rarely want what we supposed.

In this progressive and advanced world where we live, we always take various goals to ourselves dream it, but I think it’s a sort of absurd that we are unlikely to know what we want—A believe in the statement that I find troubling in various respects. The reasons to substantiated my view-point are elaborated upon hereunder.

The chief reason I believe we know what we want is that after we take a decision we imagine ourselves in different scenarios. In one we imagine we meet to our goals and imagine what could happen after. In the other one we imagine we fail in reaching and its outcomes. As I do regularly before I want to decide what I supposed to do then based on the judging the risks and outcomes I put a goal for myself. The main reason I think the second part goes a little far in that most of the people frustrating while they try or give up, in better definition some extra things will happen and caused them to change their mind they finally think that the goal they want is far from the things that they want to make. For example, me and one of my close friends decide to pursue our chance in a foreign country for doing our PhD. As we all know there are hundreds of problems that at the beginning we never think about them, so my friend frustrating and give up. Because she changed her goals she start changing her goals and believing that the things that she want to make isn’t the things she supposed to.

Second, It is natural that people change their believes after they fails. I read it in a psychology textbook that people when start to frustrate to achieving to a goal start to changing their believes. I think we all have lots of examples to this behavior and we never could understand it. Take another look to my friend example. At first we said we want to do our PhD in United States of America, Canada, Or Australia. However, after various attempt she couldn’t achieve the minimums of the universities. Therefore, she start changing her believes and goals. Such as she said I think I couldn’t live far from my family or climate is too harsh in Australia. Even though we know them from beginning, she starts to make them highlighted for changing her wants and finally she decide to do her PhD in Turkey, a country nearby the Iran.

In sum, taking aforementioned reasons and examples into account, We all know what we want from the beginning. However, when we frustrating to reaching it we starts to changing our goals and opinions and believing that we make mistake about out goals and things that we want.