The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A popular maxim says '' Human beings are what they profess''. This literarily means when people rise to the government to demand or question any anomaly in the system, the system or society gets better. For instance, creation of Npower project for unemployed youth in Nigeria, village square meetings by governors in Oyo state Nigeria and On-Air presentation of the government budgets in Oyo state came to being due to the call of the people for proper governnance and youth employment oportunities. Although, questioning the authority however, in some instances may results in anarchy and antagonism, but it si good overall for the betterment of the people and society.

The statement linking questioning of the authority to the wellbeing of the society is strictly rational. This is for one reason - improvement in the welfare of the people, and for another the betterment of the society. In Nigeria for example, the creation of Npower Project for the unemployed youth, resulted from the people's call unto the present government on what it has in stock for the teeming unemployed youth. This project has improved the wellbeing of Nigerian unemployed youth and ease the financial burden of the parents. Also, When people call question the government on their program towards ensuring the national security against fulani herdsmen- a killer squad in the country. This necessitate the government to establish community policing and institute various rapid response squad that will always ensure people safety in their respective community.

In contrast however, questioning the authority has its major short comings. Most importantly, it might cause abusive use of the freedom of speech bill (benefits) given to the people. Many will tend to critize and condemn instead of rational corrections and suggestion that can move the society forward. For instance, the freedom of information bill and speech bill in Nigeria is what led Mr. Omowole Sowore, the presidential aspirant in the 2019 general election to call for ''Revolution Now''. A move that can make Nigerian go to the street for protest; during which alot of activities of the people and government would be paralyzed. Questioning authority sometimes do result in anarchy and increase in authority's antagonist.

Questioning the government on accountability in some states in Nigeria as well as as the federal (National) government has also been beneficial. For one it has resulted in open government partnership, open contracting as well as open on-air budget presentation. During which members of the public have the responsibility of participating meaningfully., This in turn has led to improvement in the wellbeing of the populace. Also, When People question the government in Oyo state Nigeria, the government has adjusted and this has resulted in reduction in corruption, proper accountability. More so, the government organises regular village square meeting as well as a program tagged ''Meet Your Governor''. During which problems facing the people are discussed, activities of the government are reported and government chat a new course toward moving the state forward.

Ultimately, when the people in any society question the authority, Most especially, if done constructively, with proper suggestion on how to improve the wellbeing of the people. It is highly beneficial, as might turn out to reduce corruption, improve accountability and generally improve the wellbeing of the people.